Raising Readers by Being a Reader

Aiden is a very good reader. He is in first grade and can read most third grade level books. I take a lot of pride in that. Reading came very naturally to him and it was in large part due to his wonderful preschool teachers who nurtured his love of books just as much as I did.

I haven’t read much for the enjoyment of reading in a long time. My life was just way too hectic. But earlier this year I finally finished a book I had been trying to read for a year and I remembered how much I love reading! My new mission is to make reading more of a family priority. When Aiden does his nightly 20 minutes of reading I sit and read along with him and I have Caleb look at his books. This is of course before our bedtime routine and the reading of a book there. Caleb loves books as much as Aiden and I hope they both keep this love going forever!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in MommyTalk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

