It’s That Time!

It’s back to school time here and this year I will have a TKer and a 2nd grader!! For those of you not familiar with TK it’s transitional kindergarten. Basically it’s a year for kids who just missed the deadline to enroll in school to help them prepare and make sure they are ready for kinder. Caleb will be my TK kid and honestly he just now is starting to become excited. He is my middle little and school has never appealed to him like our oldest. He went to preschool for 2 years for 3 days a week and was so happy when he no longer had to go. He is my kid that says he doesn’t want to be anything when he grows up, never getting married and will live with mommy forever!

Until this week, heck yesterday he was not excited. But we bought supplies and special pencil boxes and have really been trying to pump him up and it seems to be working! ( please cross your fingers and say a prayer it sticks)

Now Aiden has always loved school. He is excited to reunite with old friends and excited about being a big 2nd grader. He is also excited his brother will be going with him. He is not however excited about the increase in homework, but somehow I think he will survive.

Me? I am so not prepared. When I left my parents to come home I thought so what if I am confined to a walker or a wheelchair! I can still get organized and do all the things I need to do to get the kids started right. The best part is I’m not working so no excuses this year, I’m creating the get ready center I always wanted last year. Boy I seriously did not understand my limitations. First of all I am so backwards on my sleep from the hospital some nights it’s 4 am before I can even fathom sleeping. And I cannot really do as much as I thought. It takes sooooo much energy getting in and out of this chair. So I tried the walker and standing, on one leg, yeah that gets old really fast.

Needless to say my get ready center is not going to be ready by Monday. I will get it done if it’s the last thing I do! I will get the teacher gifts done and their school binders done this weekend. I am so frustrated right now. I know that this is temporary. I know I’m so lucky to be where I’m at with all of this but there are still so many unknowns and limitations that sometimes I sit up at night and just cry.

Tonight however I resolve to accept my limitations. Be thankful that I am here to see my babies go to school and stop crying. It’s that time of year and I am so excited for my boys. I live them more than anything and I can’t wait for their first day!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in school time and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

