Mistakes Happen

So we get to the hospital and check in. I’m waiting in the hall and notice it is definitely not as busy as last time and so much cleaner. I immediately feel relaxed and like it’s going to be a good day. Then Matt comes out and that brief moment is gone.

He says the receptionist said I got the appointment date wrong because Dr. Eagan isn’t here today. Um no I didn’t. Not only did I receive a text message reminder to confirm, but my reply of “yes” wasn’t accepted so I had to call to confirm my appointment. But none the less she said she would double check and call or name over the loud speaker.

Cut to 30 minutes later and we are still sitting I the waiting room. There are not as many people this time and no one is totally frustrated and irate, yet. Matt decided to go back up and see what’s going on. A few minutes later a lady walks out and calls me. I was so excited and then she walks over and says we made your appointment for the wrong day. Your doctor is not working the clinic today and you have to see your doctor. Ugh. I bite my tongue and say okay what now? She apologizes and says she will get me another appointment and be right back.

Meantime, we are talking to another couple in the waiting room who have asked what I’m in for. I am always uneasy in these situations. As soon as we tell them how my injuries occurred we get the oh wow sympathy looks and then either the awkward pause where they don’t know how to transition or the I hate people who drink and drive rant. Both are fine. I mean I hate people who drink and drive and I feel awkward because do I have to now reciprocate and ask about their injury? See most of these people are older and well their injuries are less tragic and more I fell or years of working in such such business did me in. Today the guy proceeded to tell me how awful it was that I couldn’t walk still and yet his wife had hip replacement surgery and was up and walking the next day!! Just rub it in buddy, just rub it in.

Luckily the nice lady came back and I know have a new appointment next week and my situation starts all over. To make it even better I’m out of pain meds. Now I don’t need much but I do need something. I called my regular doctor and they were going to call in something for me but didn’t get a chance to before closing. Last night Tylenol didn’t last. Tonight I’m taking ibuprofen and it seems to be working fun better but again it’s wearing off and making sleep harder. One more week. I’ve made it this far, one more week is nothing. Also I’m alive. Cannot complain I’m alive.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Road to recovery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

