Semi homemade Chicken Pot Pie Take 2!

Okay so I posted a picture on Instagram last night and had a lot if people inquire about the recipe so this is the one I adapted from Sandra Lee for Food Network. It’s semi homemade and you can control all the amounts and ingredients to be as healthy as you want. Best part is I always have a little filling and sauce leftover to make another meal in the week. Scalloped potatoes are my fave!

2 chicken breast cubed and cooked. 2 med red potatoes peeled and diced
2/3 c frozen peas
2/3 c baby carrots, sliced thin
2 stalks of celery thinly sliced
6 tbsp butter
6 tbsp all purpose flour
2 c low sodium chicken broth
Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper
2 tsp thyme
1 1/2 c milk ( I used 2%)
Marie callendars deep dish frozen pie crust. Or whatever your favorite brand may be.

Preheat oven to 400. Open pie shells and place one on cookie sheet take the other out of metal tin and let thaw on cookie sheet.

Add 1-2 tbsp of olive oil or spray oil if you prefer to a nonstick pan and cook chicken. Take off heat and cool. I prefer to. I’ve mine first but you could always cook whole and cube after. I add salt and pepper and some sort of all purpose seasoning like Mrs Dash. I cook by eyeballing and tasting. So I would start small and add more as needed.

Peel and dice potatoes and sauté in a pan on medium heat and 1-2 tbsp of olive oil for about 5 minutes. Next add celery and carrots for a few more. Season with salt and pepper. Add chicken and stir.

In a large saucepan melt butter. Add flour, whisking after each tablespoon. Next slowly add broth whisking the entire time until all is incorporated. Approximately 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper, I used 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp pepper. Add dried thyme and stir. Slowly add milk whisking until smooth. Cook another few minutes. During this time add chicken mixture to pie shell. Then fill with sauce. Depending on pie shell depth, you may have extra. No worries use the sauce to make scalloped potaotes later in the week;)

Top with the thawed pie shell and seal edges. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Pull out and wrap the edges in foil so as not to burn. Put back into oven until golden brown about another 15-20 minutes.

Serve this hearty dish while still piping hot. And enjoy!

IMG_0531.JPG

IMG_0527.JPG

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

