A Classic Resolution.

ORGANIZE.

I am so cliché this year I just can’t even. (ugh did I really just type that?) Anyway, I used to be on the express train to the plan it out, work the plan party with all the other young new mommy’s. Now I am on the pick that up and smell it first before putting it on train. Yup, I am almost that sad. When my husband said he wanted to take a year off before going back to work I said okay. We can figure this whole stay at home dad thing. Then my new job got real, real quick and I had to work more and work weekends all the time. I had no energy, as per usual, and I worked crazy shifts. I just wanted to come home to a clean house and laundry.

They expectation when we both worked was that we would share duties and I did a little more than half. But now the hubs is home so it should all be his right? Well it got to the point where he was drowning and every suggestion I would give made him feel like I was nagging. Things started to pile up and before I knew it we were sinking fast. Then enter the car accident and my injuries. There was no way no I could help if I wanted to.

I am just now getting more involved and helping. I know that having routines in place will help us achieve a better home and make my inner organized self so much more happy. But there are still days, especially lately with the cold, that I am super sore and bending and walking are just not in the cards. But I gotta push myself to do something every day. So when the opportunity came, I knew exactly what to write.

For New Year’s this year I decided we all needed to fill out pieces of paper reflecting on the past year and resolving to do better in the new year. (I know but it was the simplest way to explain it to the 8 and 5 year old) One of my resolutions is to be organized both personally and as a homemaker. Enter pinterest and all the free printables and advice a person could imagine. I am a little overwhelmed but I know I will make it. I started by organizing our new desk area and finishing up the kids communication center. So while I am sitting here being basic with my resolutions, I have to say being basic feels good. What are your resolutions? Did you even make any?

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in MommyTalk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

