Getting My Justice.

MADD sends advocates to the court house to sit in on cases and help victims as needed. I had the pleasure of meeting Carla, my local advocate, during this process. She is amazingly strong and so passionate. I immediately felt a connection to her.

The DA in my case was also awesome. Explaining to me that this was not what he wanted. That he was prepared to fight for me and my family. I am very proud to have these two people in my corner.

I felt so lost after the sentencing. I felt like a victim in a way I had never felt before. I survived my crash so basically it meant no big deal to the judge. I felt like I had been slapped in the face and that what I am going through doesn’t matter. I drove around, I wandered Barnes and Noble for hours and I stayed in bed for a day. I was lost. Then Carla called.

She told me that channel 17 wanted to do another segment during the news about DUI and they wanted to tell my story. I immediately said yes. I felt charged and got right out of bed. This was my justice. I was going to tell my story and I was going to tell people that driving while under the influence of anything was not okay. That even when people live you still destroy and alter people’s lives forever.

Aric Richards came to my home with a camera man and did an interview. They were so nice and immediately my butterflies were gone. I felt at ease and am so thankful they came. I am even more thankful for the amazing job Aric did telling my story and the truth about drunk driving.

You can see and read the segment here

Please share and help me. I want people to understand what they are doing when they choose to drink and drive.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Road to recovery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

