The Struggle is Real. 

I am such a bad Catholic. Every year when I do participate in lent I fail. It’s like new year resolutions all over again! For the last handful of years I always try to add something instead of give up something. Like one year I tried praying everyday. I almost managed that. And another year I tried meditation every day for 5 minutes a day. Goodness 5 minutes is long when you don’t know what to focus on. 

So this year I decided I was going to do a daily devotional. I was killing it the first week. Then I had to make up a day and now…. I think I’m only a few days behind but I’m not sure. I wanted to do some random acts of kindness as well. Yeah I should get on that. 

I do have to say what I have read has stuck and has made me think. I haven’t gone to church this season but I think my struggle with organized religion has been documented enough. 

The Catholic guilt is strong with this one. Every year I beat myself up about this failure. Even more so than the new year resolution debacle! It’s almost like this is how it’s supposed to be. So I can say I’m bad or that I don’t know if I truly believe. Maybe I sabotage myself and don’t even realize it. I mean when I give up things I usually succeed. Who knows. I guess only time will tell. In the meantime I have some reading to do. 

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

