Lunch Rut

its no secret I like packing lunches for my boys. I’m not the super creative type that can make a slice of bread look like a work of art, but I can use a sandwich cutter and that’s enough. I tried really hard at first to really do a lot of different things and keep it really fresh and exciting for the kids. But this year, with my picky eater Caleb, well I haven’t changed it up as much as used to and realize we are in a rut! 

One of my favorite things to do is go through hashtags on Instagram or go through Pinterest with Caleb and ask him if he would be willing to try this or that. Or I let him go through and find fun things he wants to eat. It can get me in trouble sometimes when he spots something my untalented arty self can’t do. But usually he is good with what I am capable of. 

Recently I realized we were out of bread and only had a few slices of lunch meat left. So as I thought of things to pack in their lunch it hit me- an oldie but goodie we haven’t used since the preschool years, applewiches! 

These are fun because the kids can top them with whatever they like. Mine chose simple peanut butter but the toppings such as granola, raisins or cranberries, trail mix, are endless. 

To make simply wash and core an apple. Slice into thick slices. Then I soak mine in 1 cup of water mixed with 1sp of honey so they don’t brown.  I got this from America’s Test Kitchens YouTube. Then pay them dry and add your toppings. You could use a favored cream cheese, your favorite nut  butter or nut butter alternative. 

In the picture I added two slices of turkey, a cheese wheel, pistachios, and some multigrain crackers. The gummies are vitamins and the little nuggets are granola bites that are super delicious! How do you get out of the lunch box rut? 



About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Kiddie Bites and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

