Unstructured Life

I am a routine person. And I love sleep. I am the type of person who either needs 5 or less hours or 10 hours of sleep. 8 -9 hours and I’m still tired and grumpy. Weird I know. But when I became a parent I knew we were going to have some kind of routine. And with all my kids we had a routine and it worked amazingly for us. 

While this time off of work due to my injuries has been difficult mentally and physically, the only good thing is time. Time I have with my kids that I wouldn’t have had before because I would have been working. Granted some of that time hasn’t been very good because of my health but the good far outweighs the bad. 

This is the first summer since becoming a mother, where I haven’t had a job outside the home. Normally we keep the same routine as during the school year with some modifications for fun times. I mean U.S. adults don’t get a summer break and well, I need my sleep remember? But this summer I don’t have to be at work at 4 or 8 am. And even though I can’t necessarily run around and hike mountains with my kids, we have been having lots of fun! 

The first thing to go was bedtime. We can stay up later if we can sleep in, and man have we been sleeping in! We watched all the Star Wars movies, in order, starting with number 4. We are half way through the Harry Potter movies and last night the boys discovered Leave it to Beaver. Every night after dinner we go in the front yard and play baseball with any neighborhood kids that come out to play. It’s our very own Sandlot! We are baking cookies and the boys are helping in the kitchen with every meal. 

I know that getting them back into a routine may be difficult but I learned a tough lesson a year ago. Time is precious and making memories is important. I know as adults we can sometimes be so consumed by what we doing for a living it becomes who we are. Remember to stop and be a kid with your kids or even your friends if you don’t have kids. No one knows what tomorrow holds. 

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Fun Times, Road to recovery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

