MADD National Day of Rememberance

December 3 was the Mother’s Against Drunk Driving, National Day of Remembrance. What does that mean? It was a day where family members, friends, those affected by a death or injury due to a drunk driver, could come together and celebrate and honor their loved ones, or in my case, talk about how far you have come since your injuries occurred.

My local MADD group got together for Pie and Coffee. I was apprehensive about going because I didn’t quite know what to expect as a survivor. It is hard to listen to the stories and not feel thankful that you are here. It’s hard to see so much pain in people’s face and hear it in their voices and know that you made it. But luckily I have a very understanding group of friends and honestly, I never feel out of place when I am with them.

The stories. My God the stories are truly heartbreaking. When you lose a loved one in such a terrible, preventable way, that cut runs deep and is always fresh. In retrospect no one in this group needs a day to remember their stories or their loved ones, we live with their memory and the consequences of that incident forever. But there is something extremely therapeutic in telling your story, in hearing other’s stories, in the friendships you build belonging to this unfortunate group that has to exist.

To commemorate the day we created plates with designs and colors. You know the kind you can bake and seal in the image forever. It was so interesting to see how everyone decided to decorate and what types of colors everyone used. We each took our time telling our stories. There were tears and laughter and in the end we all left feeling uplifted and forever bonded. Carla, our MADD coordinator, has such an amazing spirit to put this all together for us and inspire and nuture us in way that makes us all feel safe and free to share. In a world where everything is about now, in this moment, me, me, me, it is so refreshing to have time stop and truly just be.

 

Thank you MADD and thank you to my MADD family.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Road to recovery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

