Too Old to Dream

It’s been a long time since I thought about my dreams for the future. A long time that I have told my self I could dream of a future. For various reasons we adults forget to dream. To imagine what our future may hold, to imagine if the world was your happy place. 

Today is Martin Luther King Jr Day. It’s a day to reflect and serve your community and be a part of the world in a positive way. And while I have been thinking about how to discuss this with my kids and how to talk about his I have a dream speech, I realized I don’t have a dream. 

So today I am looking ahead. I am reflecting on my life and the positive role I want to play in not only my children’s lives but my community as a whole. What can I do to give more? What can I do to be more to my family? 

Today is not a waste. Today is my a free day but a day to be free from the constraints of everyday life and be the change you want to see in the world. That is how you honor MLK and that is how you can keep his legacy alive. Today is not a day for differences and grievances but a day for togetherness and celebration of who we are individually and collectively. 

That’s what I’m sharing with my boys today. And I just might allow myself a day dream or two. 

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

