That Boy Mom Life

I was never entirely sure if I wanted to be a mom. And my younger self most definitely didn’t want to be a mom 3 times. But as I warmed up to the idea of kids I remember thinking I hope my kids are wild, individuals, and busy. I know totally weird things to hope for but my parents always kept us busy. Encouraged us to do and try sports and activities and the more “mom” I saw myself the more I hoped for that. 

We have been so busy lately with wrestling. Both Aiden and Caleb are involved and our weekends consist of tournaments near and far. 

It’s been tough as a mom because my oldest is going up against kids with much more experience and technique than he has. Also my kids have never had to discipline themselves so much. This sport is one on one. There is no team to catch you when you fall. My middle little has won almost every tournament he has been to. He is wrestling newbies as a newbie. Trying to balance their feelings has been a tough one. 

We keep encouraging Aiden, who has won some medals, that winning isn’t everything and improving and enjoying himself is what this is about. Along with being super excited every time his brother wins. It’s been a pickle I never expected but a good growing moment for me and the hubs to learn to encourage and celebrate the individual accomplishments of our boys. 

I have always been so adamant that they are their own person, even though they are lumped together as the Smith boys, I have painstakingly made sure to never be matchup in their clothes or likes and dislikes. Yet they always gravitate toward the same things and always seem to compete against each other. Most of the time it’s harmless and we laugh about it. But this time it felt different. 

So far we seem to have managed to keep everyone happy and are walking away from these tournaments with our self esteem in tact. Well except the baby. He is always so pissed he can’t wrestle yet! He always had to be in the pictures. But no one ever complains, they don’t ever mind sharing the spotlight with the crazy one!  

 

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in KiddieTalk, MommyTalk, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

