2 years. 


It’s been 2 years. 2 years since the day I thought I was going to die. 2 years since my world was turned upside down. Do you think about me Frankie Kahle? Do you think about my family? Probably not. I try very hard to not think of you. I think of that day and I live with the choice you made everyday but I rarely stop and think about you. You don’t deserve it. 

Judge Humphrey, do you even remember my case? Do you think about my words and how hard it was for me to get up and talk about it what the man did to me and my family? Probably not. I also try not to think of you. To think of your words of sympathy for the man that nearly killed me. I try so hard to not remember that moment when you let him walk away Scott free. The day I became a victim and not a survivor. 

It’s been 2 years and this year as much as I still isn’t want to celebrate 4th of July I did. And I tried my very best to not think of Frankie and what he did. But how could I not. While I still wasn’t totally festive and in the best spirits, I did not cry. I decided I was not going to let this man continue to control me on this day. We finally took a new picture. I can erase the one I took on that day, the one that popped in my head when that mans truck hit us. The picture I still look at and cry and think that’s the last image I thought I would ever see of my kids. I am happy to erase that. 

It’s baby steps. I know one day I will have to let it all go completely but for now there is still some anger, disappointment, and pain. But it’s been 2 years and I was finally able to get a new pic. 


About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Road to recovery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

