To Coffee or Not to Coffee…

I worked at Starbucks for 14, 15, 16 years? Who can remember, it felt like fucking forever and then it now feels like it’s been forever since I have worked there. I miss it. Scratch that I miss the rush and adrenaline and the laid back, exchange of it. I don’t miss the micromanaging of DM’s and the euphoric serene setup played out to us in motivational speeches and how to video’s from stores that will never know what it means to be a central California store. Central California is the drive thru capital of Starbucks. But I am not getting into that, not my problem anymore. However if you are a manager and want a kick ass barista to kill your morning rushes Monday thru Friday 4am-8:30 am, I’m so your gal!

But I digress, the funny think about not working for Starbucks is how much coffee I drink! I drink at least 3 cups a day at the office. I never had time to sit and drink coffee. Plus I’m spoiled with being able to make whatever I feel like whenever I felt like it that regular drip with creamer is just so basic. But it’s my life right now. I drink it Monday thru Friday and if I am really lucky I get to go to Starbucks in the morning or to a local bakery and pick up some Cafe Du Monde coffee. But I wonder if this is just a habit or if it’s becoming a need. On the weekends I am not pressed to have coffee. I don’t have to have it, I enjoy it sometimes and I want to sit and be all cozy on the couch with my coffee, I just still don’t know how to be that person. I however am totally winning at the office coffee game.

But when is it too much? Frankly never in my opinion but if I don’t need it why am I doing it? Obviously I love the taste of coffee but it’s not like it’s keeping me perky. I really need it to but that’s not my response to caffeine. I also must admit I’m bored. I need to step up my coffee game. I have lost that adventure in tasting and trying new things when it comes to coffee now that I lost my constant access to coffee. Today I plan to try the coffee shandy that Starbucks Melody posted about. Cold brew with lemonade instead of water. Sounds delightful and delicious and mouthwatering. I cannot wait! Review to come soon. So even though I am still questioning my why I coffee, I will continue to coffee. I don’t think that will ever change.

 

 

 

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Coffee Talk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

